Residential Schools

Posted: February 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

Residential Schools: This is a topic very dear to my heart. I am passionate about seeking justice for the hurt that was caused by Residential Schooling. It infuriates me that this is part of Canada’s history and I am ashamed by it. Sometimes sorry isn’t enough when the damage has been done…

I did my internship in Punnichy, SK which is very near to Gordon’s First Nation. This is where the longest running Residential School in Canada was located (shut down in 1996). I can’t believe that it was still running until then. I stumbled across this interesting article about Residential Schooling compensations.

For more information read this good online article about Residential Schooling

Please check out this essay that I wrote: Residential Schooling by Joanna Longmuir

Comments
  1. courosa says:

    I too am ashamed of this legacy. Thanks for sharing this video and your essay!

  2. Bethann says:

    I had the privilege one time to watch a healing ceremony at a residential school. If I didn’t know before watching this ceremony how much pain this caused so many people, I definitely knew after! Culture was ripped away from each of these people. I know that in the future we will be around students from all cultural backgrounds. I think that we can allow these students to be proud of their heritage whereever they may come from.

Leave a Reply

