PWIM

Posted: March 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

PWIM stands for picture word inductive model. This is a literacy program that involves having a large picture with words associated to each object in the picture. I have spoken with teachers who have tried this model in their classroom and I have watched a teacher do a PWIM lesson. From what I understand there are mixed reviews on this program- some love it and some don’t. One concern I have heard of is that some of the pictures don’t have age appropriate words and some children don’t know what the images are. For example there was a picture of a fruit stand at a market and in the picture were all sorts of berries and fruits. Children didn’t know the difference between blueberries and saskatoon berries or mangos and papayas etc. and those words were too long and hard for their level. Once I have a classroom of my own I would like to try this model for myself and see how it works. Has anyone else heard of this or tried it before?

 I’ve included a video to help better explain the program:

Comments
  1. Brittney says:

    Joanna, I am glad you posted this. During my internship we used P.W.I.M on a regular basis. I was in grade 1 and loved it! As for the photos, you can use just about ANYTHING.. i even made my own PWIM poster with the students in the class to go along with my “Healthy Lifestyle” theme. The kids really enjoyed it for it was relevant and the items were things the kids could relate too. Definately have to try it.. see if you like it. My grade 1’s adapted to it so well and can be used in a number of ways. 🙂 I love P.W.I.M.

  2. Sylvia says:

    I’d never heard of PWIM until this. How successful would it be to use it as a pre-writing tool in high school? I could see it as a beginning to creative writing or even analytical writing? Have you heard of any success in those areas?

  3. daniellatiefenbach says:

    I think that is an awesome idea for younger readers. I saw this happening in my pre-internship but didn’t know what it was called; they used pictures of the students working and labelled them. I think that to engage younger students, this woudl be a great technique if you used a picture that was relevant to them!

Leave a Reply

