Yoga for Kids

Posted: March 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

In my internship I heard about Yoga for Kids. One teacher that I met would do a whole Phys. Ed. unit on yoga with her Phys. Ed. classes grades KG-8. She had a little booklet and CD to assist as a resource(I think it was simply called Yoga for Kids). There were plenty of animal poses and other fun things that kids liked. Another teacher from a different school I went to collaborates with another teacher in her school to incorporate a whole yoga program into the weekly schedule. The teachers take turns leading a large group of yoga, grades KG-2. They have yoga class about 2 or 3 times a week for about 40 minutes(I think). I watched how the teacher did a yoga class. Every child had their own yoga mat. Some kids used a beach towel instead if they didn`t have one. The teacher puts on relaxing music and the kids were silent(this must be a routine that took a long time to establish). Then the teacher lead the class in doing several different poses while continuously reminding them to breathe deep. The children were so relaxed and calm. When they were done they were ready to get back to learning and seemed to be able to concentrate better. The kids absolutely love yoga class and I was surprised at how well-behaved they were. After seeing this I became really interested in yoga. It has endless amounts of benefits!! I wanted to be able to do this with my own class.. so this semester I registered for a yoga class so that i would become more familiar with it, and I love it. There are so many videos and other resources out there that could help a teacher get into it and be able to do it with their class.

Comments
  1. courosa says:

    Thanks much for posting this. It’s interesting to hear of the experiences with yoga and these students.

  2. […] recently read a blog post about “Yoga for Kids” posted by Joanna […]

Leave a Reply

